Who are we? The obvious answer is “a human being”. More specifically, “We the people of sovereign, socialist, secular and democratic India. Now a days India is not really secular but it is pseudo secular.

For example, in this photo from 1960s, Nehru was proudly showcasing a snake charmer as pride of India instead he could have chosen to showcase our rich cultural art like Bharatnatyam or maybe a sitar performance. But showcasing such classical art & culture was against the code of conduct for congress and communist leaders because it was communal. If the world has been looking at us as a nation of snake charmers, it is due to follies of leaders like Nehru who tried to portray India as an uncultured, uncivilized nation.


In fact we Indians are very inconfident about our own science and our heritage. No country can move forward without valuing it’s heritage, hence we should give proper importance to own tradition and related persons. Royal Australasian College of Surgeons has kept this statue of sage Sushrut at their head office in Melbourne, addressing him as Father of Surgery.
Imagine if AIIMS had installed his statue in their premises, it would be called communal. When the rest of the world was struggling to find food, Bharat was progressed in Science. Sage Sushrut had found many types of treatments and surgeries. The Suśruta-Saṃhitā (works of Sushruta) is one of the most important surviving ancient treatises on medicine and is considered a foundational text of Medicine.

The Suśruta-saṃhitā, in its 184 chapters contains descriptions of

◆ 1,120 illnesses,

◆ 700 medicinal plants,

◆ 64 preparations from mineral sources and

◆ 57 preparations based on animal sources.

The text discusses surgical techniques of

● making incisions,

● probing,

● extraction of foreign bodies,

● alkali and thermal cauterization,

● tooth extraction,

● excisions, and

● trocars for draining abscess,

● draining hydrocele and ascitic fluid,

● removal of the prostate gland,

● urethral stricture dilatation,

● vesicolithotomy,

● hernia surgery,

● caesarian section,

● management of haemorrhoids,

● fistulae,

● laparotomy and

● management of intestinal obstruction,

● perforated intestines and

● accidental perforation of the abdomen with protrusion of omentum and

● the principles of fracture management, viz., traction, manipulation, apposition and stabilization including some measures of rehabilitation and

● fitting of prosthetic.

It enumerates six types of dislocations, twelve varieties of fractures, and classification of the bones and their reaction to the injuries, and gives a classification of eye diseases including cataract surgery.

How many Indians knew him??

India has a lot to be proud of, but the fear of being called communal makes us forget our own heritage.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s